Old African Music

Dr K. Gyasi & His Noble Kings (1974)

No collection should be without this classic by Dr. K. Gyasi and his Noble Kings. What’s surprising to me is the full sound, with only ten musicians. Eric Agyemang excels, rewriting the book about the role of the lead guitar. But the same goes for the rest of the orchestra. I would like to mention the bass player, Ralph Karikari, Thomas Frimpong on drums and vocals, and the whole of the (four strong) percussion section.

More music…

One reply on “Dr K. Gyasi & His Noble Kings (1974)”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 + twenty =